Opened 14 years ago

Last modified 9 years ago

#279 new defect

IZ1827: qconf -mq <name> wrongly modifies the queue <name>

Reported by: sgrell Owned by:
Priority: low Milestone:
Component: sge Version: 6.0
Severity: Keywords: clients
Cc:

Description

[Imported from gridengine issuezilla http://gridengine.sunsource.net/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=1827]

        Issue #:      1827             Platform:     All      Reporter: sgrell (sgrell)
       Component:     gridengine          OS:        All
     Subcomponent:    clients          Version:      6.0         CC:    None defined
        Status:       NEW              Priority:     P4
      Resolution:                     Issue type:    DEFECT
                                   Target milestone: ---
      Assigned to:    roland (roland)
      QA Contact:     roland
          URL:
       * Summary:     qconf -mq <name> wrongly modifies the queue <name>
   Status whiteboard:
      Attachments:

     Issue 1827 blocks:
   Votes for issue 1827:


   Opened: Thu Oct 6 06:58:00 -0700 2005 
------------------------


Hello,

if the editor is terminated without saving the queue modifications, does
the qconf command submit the unchanged queue to the qmaster and reports:

USER@HOST modified "all.q" in cluster queue list

even so no modifications to place. Another modification which was done
at the same time will be lost. qconf does also not check, if the queue
was modified in the meantime from somebody else.

Cheers,
Stephan

   ------- Additional comments from roland Wed Oct 26 03:10:19 -0700 2005 -------
You've saved the file inside the editor with "w!" and so the file got a new
timestamp. This indicate the config was changed and will be updated.

Also it is not possible to use the return value of the edtior to detect if the
config was changed because some editors return a value != 0 if e.g a search
inside the file failed. In this case the config will not be saved if it was
changed or not.

A clean fix would be to compare the values to check if the config was saved. But
it is not desired to do this fix for the 6.0 release

The overwriting of a modified config that was modifed at the same time by
another user is a possible problem but it is very hard to avoid this. Because
qconf should also be usable by scripts it does not make sense in our view to
change the current behavior and use the last saved config version.

Change History (0)

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.